Thursday, August 3, 2017

TBR Thursday: The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

TBR Thursdays is hosted by Kim @ Kimberly Faye Reads! This feature was created with the intent of spotlighting a title from your shelf that you planning on reading in order to discuss why you want to read it, as well to discuss the book with others! If you'd like to join, feel free to use the banner created by Kimberley (or your own), and stop by her page to participate.

The Bellwether Revivals
Synopsis from Goodreads:

"Part Secret History, part Brideshead Revisited for the 21st century, The Bellwether Revivals is a page-turning, romantic, eerie tale of genius and, possibly, madness; a stunning debut for fans of Sarah Waters, Donna Tartt, and Lauren Goff.

 The Bellwether Revivals opens and closes with bodies. The story of whose bodies and how they come to be spread about an elegant house on the river near Cambridge is told by Oscar, a young, bright working class man who has fallen in love with an upper-class Cambridge student, Iris, and thereby become entangled with a group of close friends, led by Iris's charismatic, brilliant, possibly dangerous brother. For Eden Bellwether believes he can heal -- and perhaps more -- through the power of music. In this masterful debut, we too are seduced by this gilded group of young people, entranced by Eden's powerful personality and his obvious talent as a musician, and caught off guard by the strangeness of Iris and Eden's parents. And we find ourselves utterly unsure as to whether Eden Bellweather is a saviour or a villain, and whether Oscar will be able to solve this mystery in time to save himself, if not everyone else."

This is a book that I've been wanting to read for quite a while now, and I'm really hoping to get to it this month. I am a huge fan of Donna Tartt and Sarah Waters, so that recommendation "for fans of" them completely grabs me. This sounds so mysterious and I'm really intrigued by all of the character mentioned. This one sounds right up my alley, so I can't wait to read it!

Are you interested in reading this book? What books are on your TBR?

No comments:

Post a Comment