Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: The Sisters of the Winter Wood by Rena Rossner & The Pasha of Cuisine by Saygin Ersin


Can't-Wait is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings that spotlights exciting upcoming releases that we can't wait to be released! This meme is based off of Jill @ Breaking the Spine's Waiting on Wednesday meme.

This week's upcoming book spotlight is:
The Sisters of the Winter Wood by Rena Rossner
Publication Date: September 25th, 2018
Redhook
464 pages
Pre-order: Amazon Book Depository 

From Goodreads: 

"
Captivating and boldly imaginative, with a tale of sisterhood at its heart, Rena Rossner's debut fantasy invites you to enter a world filled with magic, folklore, and the dangers of the woods. 

Raised in a small village surrounded by vast forests, Liba and Laya have lived a peaceful sheltered life - even if they've heard of troubling times for Jews elsewhere. When their parents travel to visit their dying grandfather, the sisters are left behind in their home in the woods. But before they leave, Liba discovers the secret that their Tati can transform into a bear, and their Mami into a swan. Perhaps, Liba realizes, the old fairy tales are true. She must guard this secret carefully, even from her beloved sister. 

Soon a troupe of mysterious men appear in town and Laya falls under their spell-despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And these are not the only dangers lurking in the woods... 

The sisters will need each other if they are to become the women they need to be - and save their people from the dark forces that draw closer."
This sounds like a perfect book to pick up for the beginning of the fall season, and I can't wait to have a chance to read it. Magic, folklore, animal transformation--it all sounds perfect. I am simply in love with that cover as well.

and...
The Pasha of Cuisine by Saygin Ersin, Trans. Mark Wyers
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Arcade Publishing
300 pages
Pre-order: Amazon Book Depository

From Goodreads

"For readers of Ken Follett's Kingsbridge series and Richard C. Morais's The Hundred-Foot Journey, a sweeping tale of love and the magic of food set during the Ottoman Empire. 

A Pasha of Cuisine is a rare talent in Ottoman lore. Only two, maybe three are born with such a gift every few centuries. A natural master of gastronomy, he is the sovereign genius who reigns over aromas and flavors and can use them to influence the hearts and minds, even the health, of those who taste his creations. In this fabulous novel, one such chef devises a plot bring down the Ottoman Empire—should he need to—in order to rescue the love of his life from the sultan’s harem. 

Himself a survivor of the bloodiest massacre ever recorded within the Imperial Palace after the passing of the last sultan, he is spirited away through the palace kitchens, where his potential was recognized. Across the empire, he is apprenticed one by one to the best chefs in all culinary disciplines and trained in related arts, such as the magic of spices, medicine, and the influence of the stars. It is during his journeys that he finds happiness with the beautiful, fiery dancing girl Kamer, and the two make plans to marry. Before they can elope, Kamer is sold into the Imperial Harem, and the young chef must find his way back into the Imperial Kitchens and transform his gift into an unbeatable weapon."

I love the sound of this one, and I'm particularly excited for setting and the food aspects. This sounds like it will be a really interesting storyline and I hope to have a chance to pick it up!

What do you think about these upcoming releases? What are your anticipated upcoming releases?


Planning to purchase a book or two? Consider purchasing on Book Depository through my affiliate link! Book Depository has worldwide free shipping and millions of titles to choose from.

I am also an Amazon affiliate, so if you'd prefer to shop through Amazon, just click the banner on the upper right hand side of my blog! (above the 'Follow by email' box, you may need to pause adblock to see it!)
     

18 comments:

  1. Wow these books look fantastic and really intriguing. I especially love the cover for Sisters of the Winter Wood, the gold color is stunning!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I bet it is going to look stunning in physical form!

      Delete
  2. I will definitely check The Sisters of the Winter Wood!!! :))

    ReplyDelete
  3. I need The Sisters of the Winter Wood NOW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same! I hope you get your hands on a copy! It's on NetGalley and Edelweiss if you use either of those--worth a shot. :)

      Delete
  4. I'm adding The Sisters of the Winter Wood to my wishlist. It sounds so good! Great picks! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oooh! Both books look interesting! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Sisters of the Winter Wood sounds great. Definitely looks like a great read for fall!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed! Everything about it just says 'fall' to me.

      Delete
  7. The Pasha of Cuisine sounds really good, a really unique setting!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've already got Sisters of the Winter Wood on my list, and The Pasha of Cuisine sounds really intetesting!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I’ve never heard of these books, but I love the cover of the first one.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete