Wednesday, April 26, 2023

Can't-Wait Wednesday: The Ferryman by Justin Cronin, Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea by Rita Chang-Eppig, & Scarlet by Genevieve Cogman

  



 Can't-Wait is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings that spotlights exciting upcoming releases that we can't wait to be released! This meme is based off of Jill @ Breaking the Spine's Waiting on Wednesday meme.

This week's upcoming book spotlights are: 

The Ferryman by Justin Cronin
Publication: May 2nd, 2023
Ballantine Books
Hardcover. 560 pages.
Pre-order: Amazon | Bookshop.org

From Goodreads:
"Founded by the mysterious genius known as the Designer, the archipelago of Prospera lies hidden from the horrors of a deteriorating outside world. In this island paradise, Prospera's lucky citizens enjoy long, fulfilling lives until the monitors embedded in their forearms, meant to measure their physical health and psychological well-being, fall below 10 percent. Then they retire themselves, embarking on a ferry ride to the island known as the Nursery, where their failing bodies are renewed, their memories are wiped clean, and they are readied to restart life afresh.

Proctor Bennett, of the Department of Social Contracts, has a satisfying career as a ferryman, gently shepherding people through the retirement process--and, when necessary, enforcing it. But all is not well with Proctor. For one thing, he's been dreaming--which is supposed to be impossible in Prospera. For another, his monitor percentage has begun to drop alarmingly fast. And then comes the day he is summoned to retire his own father, who gives him a disturbing and cryptic message before being wrestled onto the ferry.

Meanwhile, something is stirring. The Support Staff, ordinary men and women who provide the labor to keep Prospera running, have begun to question their place in the social order. Unrest is building, and there are rumors spreading of a resistance group--known as "Arrivalists"--who may be fomenting revolution.

Soon Proctor finds himself questioning everything he once believed, entangled with a much bigger cause than he realized--and on a desperate mission to uncover the truth.
"

I read an ARC of The Ferryman a while back and I definitely have some thoughts on it that I'll probably be sharing sometime soon now (hopefully!). I enjoyed what Cronin did with this story and can't wait for it to be officially released into the wild!

Deep as the Sky, Red as the Sea by Rita Chang-Eppig
Publication: May 30th, 2023
Bloomsbury Publishing
Hardcover. 304 pages.
Pre-order: Amazon | Bookshop.org


From Goodreads:
"
For readers of Outlawed, Piranesi, and The Night Tiger, a riveting, roaring adventure novel about a legendary Chinese pirate queen, her fight to save her fleet from the forces allied against them, and the dangerous price of power.

When Shek Yeung sees a Portuguese sailor slay her husband, a feared pirate, she knows she must act swiftly or die. Instead of mourning, Shek Yeung launches a new plan: immediately marrying her husband's second-in-command, and agreeing to bear him a son and heir, in order to retain power over her half of the fleet.

But as Shek Yeung vies for control over the army she knows she was born to lead, larger threats loom. The Chinese Emperor has charged a brutal, crafty nobleman with ridding the South China Seas of pirates, and the Europeans-tired of losing ships, men, and money to Shek Yeung's alliance-have new plans for the area. Even worse, Shek Yeung's cutthroat retributions create problems all their own. As Shek Yeung navigates new motherhood and the crises of leadership, she must decide how long she is willing to fight, and at what price, or risk losing her fleet, her new family, and even her life.
"

I'm really excited about this premise, and a story based on Shek Yeung should be fantastic, so I can't wait to read this one! I'm also really curious why this is compared to Piranesi because I loved Piranesi!

Scarlet by Genevieve Cogman
Publication: May 9th, 2023
Ace
Paperback. 368 pages.
Pre-order: Amazon | Bookshop.org


From Goodreads:
"
Revolution is a bloodthirsty business . . . especially when vampires are involved.

It is 1793 and the French Revolution is in full swing. Vampires—usually rich and aristocratic—have slaked the guillotine’s thirst in large numbers. The mysterious Scarlet Pimpernel, a disguised British noble, and his League are heroically rescuing dozens of aristocrats from execution, both human and vampire. And soon they will have an ace up their Eleanor Dalton.

Eleanor is working as a housemaid on the estate of a vampire Baroness. Her highest aspiration is to one day become a modiste. But when the Baroness hosts a mysterious noble and his wife, they tell Eleanor she is the spitting image of a French aristocrat, and they convince her to journey to France to aid them in a daring scheme. Soon, Eleanor finds herself in Paris, swept up in magic and intrigue—and chaos—beyond her wildest dreams. But there’s more to fear than ardent Revolutionaries. For Eleanor stumbles across a centuries-old war between vampires and their fiercest enemy. And they’re out for blood. . . .
"

I don't really know all that much about the history of the character/story Scarlet Pimpernel, but I think this sounds like a lot of fun. I'm also not usually a huge vampire person, but when done well I can get behind them. :)

2 comments:

  1. I'm reading The Ferryman right now. I'm looking forward to comparing thoughts­čśü

    ReplyDelete