Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Can't-Wait Wednesday: A Queen in Hiding, Run Me to Earth, & Scavenge the Stars!

 
Can't-Wait is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings that spotlights exciting upcoming releases that we can't wait to be released! This meme is based off of Jill @ Breaking the Spine's Waiting on Wednesday meme.

There are a lot of awesome books coming out in January and only so many Wednesdays in December, so for this month I'll be sharing three books every week instead of two! My restraint is pretty much non-existent.

This week's upcoming book spotlights are: 

A Queen in Hiding (The Nine Realms, #1)
A Queen in Hiding by Sarah Kozloff
Publication: January 21st, 2020
Tor Books
Paperback. 496 pages.


"Debut author Sarah Kozloff offers a breathtaking and cinematic epic fantasy of a ruler coming of age in A Queen in Hiding, and all four books will be published within a month of each other, so you can binge your favorite new fantasy series. 

Orphaned, exiled and hunted, Cérulia, Princess of Weirandale, must master the magic that is her birthright, become a ruthless guerilla fighter, and transform into the queen she is destined to be. 

But to do it she must win the favor of the spirits who play in mortal affairs, assemble an unlikely group of rebels, and wrest the throne from a corrupt aristocracy whose rot has spread throughout her kingdom."
Well, I'm always up for a new adventurous fantasy! "Guerilla fighter" and "unlikely group of rebels" particularly grab me for this one. I'm also intrigued by the fact that this entire series will be published within a month of each other, so there's' a benefit if I (or you) really like the first book!

and...
Run Me to Earth
Run Me to Earth by Paul Yoon
Publication: January 28th, 2020
Simon & Schuster
Hardcover. 272 pages.


"Alisak, Prany, and Noi—three orphans united by devastating loss—must do what is necessary to survive the perilous landscape of 1960s Laos. When they take shelter in a bombed out field hospital, they meet Vang, a doctor dedicated to helping the wounded at all costs. Soon the teens are serving as motorcycle couriers, delicately navigating their bikes across the fields filled with unexploded bombs, beneath the indiscriminate barrage from the sky. 

In a world where the landscape and the roads have turned into an ocean of bombs, we follow their grueling days of rescuing civilians and searching for medical supplies, until Vang secures their evacuation on the last helicopters leaving the country. It’s a move with irrevocable consequences—and sets them on disparate and treacherous paths across the world. 

Spanning decades and magically weaving together storylines laced with beauty and cruelty, Paul Yoon crafts a gorgeous story that is a breathtaking historical feat and a fierce study of the powers of hope, perseverance, and grace."
I always enjoy exploring stories from different settings around the world and I'm not sure if I've read many stories set in Laos, so I'm really interested in that. Plus, I think the premise and the three main characters sound really compelling--can't wait for this one!

and...
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars, #1)
Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim
Publication: January 7th, 2020
Disney Hyperion
Hardcover. 336 pages.
Pre-order: Amazon | Book Depository | IndieBound


"When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide. Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one… 

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo."
It's not every day that I get to see a Count of Monte Cristo-inspired retelling and I am one hundred percent on board for that. This world sounds particularly exciting as well, so I'm really looking forward to checking this one out!

What do you think about these upcoming releases? What are your anticipated upcoming releases?

5 comments:

  1. I see at least two here I'm interested in. I love how the first series is all going to be published rather quickly. I sometimes hate the time period between books for just that reason. Scavenge the Stars has such a stunning cover!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great picks this week. I'm very curious about Scavenge the Stars😁

    ReplyDelete
  3. Those first two have great covers! Hope you get your hands on these soon!
    Check out my Wednesday Post

    ReplyDelete
  4. Scavenge the Stars in particular sounds really good. Hope you enjoy them all! My WoW

    ReplyDelete